KAD at one glance

7 church districts and 1 mission area (Graphik: Jorg Staehler)Map of Karagwe Diocese

The Karagwe Diocese (KAD) is a part of the Evangelical-Lutheran Church in Tanzania (ELCT) and is located in the Northwest of Tanzania,
near Lake Victoria.

It covers the administrative districts Karagwe District and Ngara District.

Symbol: Dove and Cross
In 1979, on 7th January, the Karagwe Diocese has been officially registered and started its work. Since 19th May 2003 it is registered under a new law.

The work of the diocese is departed in the following departments:

There are 8 church districts which belong to the Karagwe Diocese:

These 8 church districts consist of totally 35 parishes in Karagwe.

Besides the parishes there are 218 congregations to which people come together in the name of God.

The Karagwe Diocese counts 126,000 members. (Due to the census of 2004)

64 Pastors, four of them are females, 218 Evangelists and 440 Employees work for the Diocese.